About Us

Your Child Is in Great Hands

103391346_10158061845381391_150075421476

About Sheri and The Learning and Play Place

I would like to tell you a little about myself…. My name is Sheri and I grew up in a daycare home. My youngest sister is 10 years younger than I am and when she was 3 years old my Mom started to do daycare.  I have been around little kids since I was 10!!   My husband was in the Air Force when we got married. We got orders to Germany in 1991 where we lived for almost 4 years and had our 2nd daughter.  In 1994 we came back to the States and I decided that I would stay at home with our girls and do daycare for others. I had been doing some daycare while we were overseas, and I really enjoyed being with the kids and helping them develop, learn and grow. My husband is retired now, but I understand the military life. 

In 2006, we added to our family. We adopted our younger 2 children that at the time were 3 and 6 years of age. Our oldest 2 girls are now married and have children of their own.

I am licensed in the State of Nebraska for up to 8 children. I do daycare for infants up until they start kindergarten. I am CPR and First Aid Certified and belong to a Food Service Program. All meals and snacks are approved by the USDA Child Care Food Program.

Daycare has been a part of my life for so long and I enjoy each and every child that walks through my door. Daycare has been great for my family, myself and the children in my care. We have all learned new things from each other. I did daycare for several years for 2 deaf boys. That was a GREAT learning experience for all of us. I took sign language classes through Boys Town and we all learned how to communicate with each other. We have learned a lot of social skills and whenever someone has a question, we don’t know the answer to, we go to the Internet and figure it out together.  Do you know how a baby duck comes out of an egg?  We do, we watched a video clip!! There have been so many things we have learned together!!

All the children I have had in my daycare have a place in my heart. I still have former children coming to visit me and fill me in on their lives. It’s great to know that I mean as much to them as they do to me!  I have even watched children of my former children!!!

I am a mixed age home daycare and preschool. I believe it is my job to take care of your child and provide a pleasant, clean, safe and comfortable environment while in my care, just like you would at home. I provide a caring and stimulating environment in which your child can learn and grow, while safe and protected. As a professional, I strive for excellence in the service I provide.

I have an ample supply of toys and games for the children to use. I also have a big fenced backyard with several different types of playground equipment. The children take part in various activities throughout the day. The activities include a preschool package, arts and crafts,  listening and dancing to music, movie and story time and of course, lots of free play time. Since children learn through play, I hope that with my encouragement, each child will learn and progress at his individual pace. I have been complimented by our local kindergarten teachers that my kids are completely ready for school.

It is my goal to provide you with peace of mind while caring for your child.

© 2020 by Sheri Koski. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • White Facebook Icon